All Reviews

4.8

out of 5 stars

8,201 ratings

Financial Peace University

$129.99
Free Shipping
Checkout

need more for seniors

Gloria from Prattville, AL

March 7, 2019

I wish there was more information for issues involving senior adults. I am newly widowed and over 65, so much of the materials is not very applicable to me. For example, I don't need info on retirement or saving for college. (Footnote: as a former high school teacher, not every kid needs to go to college!) I joined FPU to get help in managing my limited fixed income, and so far only the information on budgeting has been helpful.

Too many bumps being first class with revised materials

Brad from Franklin, IN

March 5, 2019

We were one of the first classes starting in Jan. 2019 with the revised materials. I feel there were too many headaches. There were people in my group that could not login to membership site until class 3! I also think covering all 7 baby steps in the first 4 classes is too much. I found that my class was overwhelmed with the information. The thought of combining Saving and Budgeting in the first class is too much! I also feel there are some very important elements from the old course that is missing in the update.

Generally Good, possibly too rigid

Anna MI Dwyer from Royal Oak, MI

February 27, 2019

For people who come in without debt and with a good understanding of saving, it's excellent although possibly too rigid. For others who need high structure to prevent from overspending, it's great.

No review please

Tracey from Fort Wayne, IN

February 27, 2019

I do not wish to write a review at this time.

Pretty Good

Millicent from Desoto, TX

February 26, 2019

For the most part, financial peace is ok. It's challenging at times because most of the content is gear towards families/couples. I would like to see more content for singles.

Non-User

Donna from Antioch, IL

February 25, 2019

I did not continue to use the application and didn't even realize it was on auto renew. I guess this was an over sight on my part. Was unpleasantly surprised when I was charged the Yearly fee.

To Early To Tell

George Beall from Adamstown, MD

February 25, 2019

I am so used to the old version of FPU that I am having a hard time adjusting to the new version. I keep referring my students to forms, charts and examples that are in the old version that I haven't seen yet in the new version. Having said that, I've only completed the first 3 lessons so far. Additionally, I'm finding that most of my attendee's are professional's with families and although most if not all of the old material is buried in the web site, they just don't have the time to surf and look at everything.

Great updates but missing some elements

Mitch from Charlotte, NC

February 24, 2019

This is our second group we have led through FPU. We love some of the updates to the videos, however we feel that there are some important elements that are not featured in the program anymore. Envelopes are a critical piece of the program and don't come in the member kit anymore. We are still using our original envelopes and would not be as successful as we have been without them. Also, the importance of using the envelope system is not reinforced enough throughout the material. Also, we love the "debt chart" that used to come with the member kit and no longer comes with the new material. The new updates are great but some of the critical pieces are missing.

Better than expected

Belinda Dillon from ENID, OK

February 11, 2019

I'm coordinating my first group and the response has been great! All of the members are very open to the plan although some are dragging their feet. Overall, things are going just as I had hoped. I am seeing couples interact and individuals start budgeting for the first time. I was nervous that I would bomb but the coordinators book is thorough, walking me through step by step. As stated above, the openness of the group to these steps and their sharing takes all of my hesitations away. I am really enjoying this! That said, I had joined last year before the new rollout and feel that those videos were superior to the new ones, especially the first three baby steps. Dave went into much more detail on the budgeting and snowball. The new ones seem to just touch on these things. And who, in their right financial mind would knowingly pay $18 for a glass of lemonade??

Not on point

Long time Dave fan from Cumming, GA

February 9, 2019

Long time listener (15+ yrs), went to class for support. Instructors answered a mortgage question by saying, yes, you need to build your credit to get a mortgage, gave no other options. Last class I attended with them bc that's not what Dave would say. (Manual underwriting, anyone?)

EBC

SS from Blaine, MN

February 9, 2019

Little bit of a rough start getting our whole large group going, but I love FPU and highly recommend it to others.

FPU

Toni from Little Rock, AR

February 7, 2019

Honestly, most of the information was already on the podcast that has benefited me. There are some things that u will look at again when I get passed saving for my 3-6 months emergency fund but while I'm still working on paying the debt off, I have that. I just feel like right now, FPU doesn't benefit me until my next step

Aimed at people with credit cards.

Ann from China Grove, NC

February 4, 2019

I'd like to see a program that is for POOR FOLK with NO credit cards or outlandish bills. Mine seem silly beside the huge bills others have. BUt I still need the help and guidance. I'm on a fixed income, but did find a little par time job. But I'd like to hear what retirees with no retirement left can do to just pay monthly bills. Especially when there is "no fat to trim" from anything.

Review

Mistie Clark from Grove City, OH

February 4, 2019

I really like this. Would like to see an integration between Debt Snowball and EveryDollar. But love the way Every Dollar connects to our bank!!

OK if in debt, but if not....?

Ruby from Lancaster, PA

February 1, 2019

If you are in debt, his plan is a good one to get out of debt. You must learn to stay out of debt. But if you were never in debt, just to switch to his plan, I don't know. You might gleem some things off his program and adjust your finances, but the cost. It's up to you. Me personally it was not worth the price. My biggest problems is debit cards. If that is compromised, the hacker has accessibility to all your bank accounts associated to that debit credit. Also, once the monies are gone from the bank, it is hard for the bank to get the monies back into your account. Most credit cards have limits if the number is compromised or stolen and only limited to that one account. (check you state laws detail of your responsiblies). But to get yourself out of debt, follow his plan. Use a credit card responsiblity, as soon as you use it, pay the bill as soon as you purchase the item. It comes our of your checking immediately.

No Financial Peace University Workbook

Troy from Grand Rapids, MI

January 30, 2019

I understand the Workbook for the Financial Peace University is on back order. I have started the classes and I am not able to work through the workbook with the class. Most likely I will have 4-5 weeks completed before I get the workbook. I don't feel I am getting the most effective training without the workbook!

Baby Step 3 / Partial Government Shutdown

Jennifer from Manassas, VA

January 27, 2019

Negative: First I would like to start off with saying it is ridiculous that membership expires. At many times over the last year, I would access my account to relearn something so I can move on to another step. Once we take the course we should ALWAYS have access, however that does not appear to be the case here. Positive: I took this course in January 2018 with my spouse. We completed Baby Step 1 and Baby Step2 and were incredibly close to completing Baby Step 3 when the 2018/2019 Partial government shutdown took place. Our family was directly affected. If it were not for the "almost" fully funded emergency fund we never would have survived the 35 days missing 2 paychecks. We lived off the emergency fund until they decided to reopen the government.

Lost with a budget

Tracy Howie from Quincy, FL

January 26, 2019

I'm very thankful I have this course to work through but I am still at a loss in making a budget. I need someone to actually go step by step with me. I don't feel I got the help I truly needed, but I'm trying and the days just keep passing by.

I was sad

Marta from Pennsburg, PA

January 25, 2019

Was working for me, right up to I no longer had access to the snowball calculator.

Review

Nathan from Stevensville, MT

January 25, 2019

Not thrilled with path toward more digital for folks in an area that has little internet use.

Review

Kayce from Daphne, AL

January 25, 2019

it was okay, things were not so easy as made out to be; even with maximum effort on my part.

Slow Baby Steps

Connie from Springfield, IL

January 24, 2019

Love learning how to keep track of where every dollar is going. Learning how to manage money.

Old lessons are better than the new ones

Tau Zeta from Houston, TX

January 21, 2019

The old lessons are much better than the new ones. The old lessons explained it better and provided more examples through bible scriptures.

Lesson 1 covers too much

Paul from Huntington Beach, CA

January 17, 2019

Lesson 1 does not give sufficient information to prepare a budget, and especially to use Everydollar. Suggest giving more training before throwing students into this activity.

eh, it's ok.

Mike from JACKSONVILLE, FL

January 17, 2019

Probably does the job, but in my opinion it's not as engaging as the old materials where everything would be taught from the same stage.. Still interested to help others through Coordinating, but not anytime soon. Not when the old and the new is mixed. Was hoping for more out of the update. One Example: in Lesson 7 (at 4:00 min) Dave talks about how an average household income is $48k / year. That's kinda old news. I wish all of FPU was up to date.