All Reviews

4.8

out of 5 stars

5,952 ratings

Financial Peace University

$129.99
Free Shipping
Checkout

did not finish

Ricky from Leeds, ND

August 14, 2019

I did not finish FPU.

Group review

Frank from Peachtree City, GA

July 24, 2019

The group I was in did not work well for me. I plan to work with the resources on this site to see if I can figure out what will work for me.

Class Great but was supposed to have a lifetime membership

Sadly Let Down from Tampa, FL

July 18, 2019

We were told that the up front membership fee would give us lifetime access to the course content. Not so apparently.

It helps if you are heterosexual and married

Brenna from Hebo, OR

July 16, 2019

Even though a couple of references were made to single people taking the course, the entire framework was so skewed towards married couples, that it grew extremely irritating. Though I did pick up some good tips, the constant hammering away about family, spouse, etc. became offensive and felt exclusionary. Also, my income fluctuates greatly, as I work as a substitute teacher, have several other little jobs, and independent contracts. I was unable to find resources within the course to assist in managing this.

It Really Works!

Magda from Frederick, MD

July 10, 2019

If you make a plan and then work the plan, the plan really works!! Dave's simple steps get people from where they are to where they want to be financially. While the steps are simple and logical, normal/regular people don't talk finances the way Dave does. Sticking to the steps isn't easy when you live in a crushingly consumer/credit-based society. Taking the class once is remarkably helpful, staying connected to a group is even more helpful. Success stories fuel the fire for staying on track!!

Smart Money talk or FPU, but not both

Matthew from San Diego, CA

June 3, 2019

I guess I kind of feel like I was sold this at the Smart Money deal at our church. The videos you can watch either online or in the group seem like the Smart Money talk I already attended, but with some added supplimental material. As we watched the video in the group setting (especially in the earlier steps) it was like you knew the punch lines to Dave's jokes because you already heard them. My girlfriend actaully stopped attending the classes because she also felt it was the same thing she already heard. I did find the materials in later lessons to be more informative, but unfortunately I'm not at those steps yet. Great program, but I'd suggest it or the Smart Money talk, not both.

Too fast

Tim from Des Moines, IA

May 26, 2019

I originally went through the 13 week program. The difference was drastic. In my opinion this new 9 week course was very superficial. There didn't seem to be very much in-depth discussion about some key topics, the first of which is the usage of the various budget forms (which appear cartoonish in their remake). I know this is the "new age" of the apps, but I have had to spend a lot if time with people wanting to use a form, and had to copy the old forms so we could use them. The app just doesn't seem to be as tangible for the people I am around. Bottom line, the message and philosophy are rock solid but I won't lead the 9 week course again. I would rather lead the 13 week course with just the audio CDs than this course. I was also VERY upset when I had a couple reach out to a coach and it was just a sales pitch for their product,"pay me and I'll help guide you monthly". NOT the Dave Ramsey I will stand by. I am seeking for a new solution going forward, this new program isn't it.

Locked out halfway through Couldn't finish my class

Danielle from Marlboro, NY

May 12, 2019

Sad to say I had a terrible experience. I was locked out of my account for some reason half way through my class. Every time I called support I would leave a message and NEVER TO THIS DAY got a call back. I would communicate via email but that was SLOW going and took FOREVER and subsequently I missed the last half of my class. I was charged double for every dollar in one month. that did get refunded but I asked for a refund for my class so that I could join another one so I could complete it WITH the class like I should have able to the first time. I have been told for MONTHS that my refund is coming but each one is posted manually so I need to wait. At this point I know its not coming and so incredibly disappointed in my experience. I came to Dave and Financial peace to try and change my life. While I did create a budget (and pay monthly to due so) the rest of my money to join the class was basically stolen from me in my opinion since I was unable to complete it. UNHAPPY

Great class minus the distractions

Joe from Stockton, CA

April 11, 2019

The class was a new, fun, scary, exciting, and great experience. The instructors were very knowledgeable, and very involved. The only big negative that I have is that students newborns, infants, and small children were a huge distraction to multiple classes. I get it, maybe for some of the students, childcare isn't an option. The instructors gave the opportunity to give childcare at the church, but very rarely it was taken advantage of. I think the classmates should respect the others time, peace, and money when it comes to learning a life changing course. We all paid big money to take this course and It was very selfish and rude to your peers when babies are crying, kids are playing with the toys on the floor, watching videos on cell phones while the class is going on. I recommend that there should be an age limit of at least 10 yrs. old to bring children to class. I almost feel like I should repeat some of the classes due to not capturing all the information. Hope this helps. Thank u

Financial Peace WaterSprings Church

Anne from Ammon (Idaho Falls), ID

April 6, 2019

We did not fit well into this class. We are senior citizens and the remainder of people in class or groups when we split up, were in their 30's and under. We already owned our home, raised our kids, etc. But we did have 5 credit cards we needed to pay off. Just never felt welcome or could add anything. We were very polite and listened to everyone. Thought I could go back on here and take the class again. I understood once you paid for class it was a life-long membership.

So not intuitive

Michael Todd Alliman from Richmond, TX

March 28, 2019

You asked me for a review minutes after I signed up for a free trial. So here's where I am: 1. Where's my transactions? 2. Why don't I have access to all the things (Ask a Coach, Connect) under a free trial? Not really a trial then, is it? 3. I'm a YNAB user, but love Dave, so wanted to give it a shot. For the price, the start ain't great.

Stick to the Debt side

Michael from Dublin, OH

March 17, 2019

The course started off really strong with the emphasis on getting out of debt. I love the huge improvement we’ve made with our monthly budgeting. We’re rolling our debt snowball right now. But I have to say I was highly disturbed that Dave would so often emphasize people getting 12% annual returns on investments - that’s giving people such a false impression of reality! There’s also not a one-size-fits-all approach to investing or retirement. Maybe it’s too much to ask one program to apply equally to people in their 20s and their 60s. It would also be nice given the Christian foundation of the class if there were more emphasis on giving in the beginning instead of waiting until the last week. Also ironic that one of the lessons was how to avoid salesman tactics when Dave is trying to sell us something new every week! Speaking out of both sides of his mouth it seems.

class was good

Jerome from Hammond, IN

March 15, 2019

I enjoyed the class over all. I am really interested in paying off my debts and gaining wealth using the Dave Ramsey baby steps. My coordinator is kinda doing Dave-ish. which is not what I really wanted in this class. I really wanted to be motivated and inspired. I was not. I felt like I was an outsider reminding the class to stick to the proven plan material that Dave Ramsey suggests. I did leave the class feeling that I am not alone in my debt struggle. I found some joy in that. I wish all the Participants the most success. I am glad I paid for the year subscription and I will try another class at another place in hopes of finding motivation to keep on going on the road to debt freedom using the baby steps.

Disappointed near the end

George from Columbus, GA

March 13, 2019

My wife and I were enjoying FPU until we started having issues with it and Every Dollar's password. Just last week, we could never sign in to either account no matter how many times we reset the password. We could only get in by resetting the password, which was obviously annoying. We had reached out to tech support but have heard nothing back. Disappointed.

Class Drop Out : (

Phyllistine S. McDowell from Kalamazoo, MI

March 11, 2019

My class started great. I had a scheduled vacation and unfortunately deaf in my family. Which caused me to miss more than 3 classes... So, I dropped out! Hopefully, I will be able to retake a class at a later date!?!

Disappointed

Gail from Galesburg, IL

March 9, 2019

Financial Peace University changed our lives and so many past class members lives. We were so excited to begin a new class--this is our 6th class to coordinate--but are disappointed. Dave, Rachel and Chris are positive and energetic but we feel that the new videos are written/spoken to an class economically out of touch with where our people are. i.e. "starter home of $180,000" "seriously discussing being millionnaires" Several of our class members are new to the concept of even having $1000 in an emergency fund and by week four still fighting for dollars to put toward Baby Step 1. My husband feels that a lot of good content was lost cutting from 13 lessons to 9. We got over that and settled into the 9 lesson series--although Dave was at millionaire status at that point he related well on video without alienating people living paycheck to paycheck, deep in debt and feeling hopeless. Not sure if we'll feel comfortable taking another class through with this new series.

Review of the New FPU

Denise from Springfield, VA

February 28, 2019

I preferred the previous version of FPU. I think the commentaries by previous "customers" is really distracting. Also, there is a lack of helpful detailed information that the previous version included - sinking funds, allocated spending, irregular income etc. The EveryDollar exposure is nice, but a bit early in/for the first lesson. Also, there is no mention of the importance of using pencil and paper for the first 3 months - which is very helpful. The lack of a hard copy book, with no reduction is cost is pitiful, especially when previous versions included a book, DVDs, envelopes, "Free Spirit" erasers, etc.

need new materials

Doug from Tampa, FL

February 13, 2019

bought $125 kit 1-1/2 years ago, started class 1/2018 but was unable to complete due to family illness... went to new class yesterday & now my materials do not match current coarse

It's very difficult to get any computer help

MonaLisa from San Antonio, TX

February 9, 2019

I'm not very computer savvy it would help me a great deal if I could speak to someone.

switched videos

Charles Grippo from Fort Lauderdale, FL

January 10, 2019

My Wife & I would like the old videos back since we were almost halfway through Financial peace University. I understand there are more people on the team and family members but we did pay for Dave Ramsey. I understand things need to be updated but it would be nice to be able to see the old videos at least for some time before they are 100% removed from the course/website.

Could of been better

Charles from Little Elm, TX

December 2, 2018

I was really excited to take the class with my wife to help us both get on the same page. I was excited to have some interaction with people who have similar goals as us, but we did not find anything like that here. The teacher basically just came in read straight from the book and pushed the button on the dvd player. She didn't give us a chance to or encourage us to participate as a group. Each class it felt like she prepared maybe 5 minutes right before class, and presented us with a cliff notes version of the lesson, then turned on DVD. I was really excited but always left blah each night. I get more out of the radio and you-tube podcasts then i did from the class.

disappointed

Karen D Woodham from Ormond Beach, FL

November 24, 2018

When originally purchased it stated I could go through with a group to refresh when I wanted. However, when I signed up and started the refresher course there was no online access without paying again. This to me is false advertising. Thus my disappointment.

So/so

My Address from Salina, KS

November 9, 2018

The class was very clique like that I attended though my wife and I did learn quite a lot to help us on our journey. This review is being colored by the experience of the class but what we learned was invaluable!!!

Coordinator should have stuck to Dave Ramsey's Teachings

Amy from Phoenix, AZ

October 24, 2018

I am a huge fan of Dave Ramsey and his principals. I regularly listen to his podcast and have read several of his books. So I was extremely excited to take FPU when it was offered at my church but was sadly disappointed. The circle discussions were not at all within the linings of Dave's teachings. When subjects came up such as keeping a credit card open or having a joint bank account when you are married, they were tip toed around by the coordinator as it seemed he feared their judgement. The coordinator himself stated that he also keeps a credit card open apparently for emergencies. Our circle discussions always seemed to contradict what I would hear on the radio show or read in the Total Money Makeover and are what ultimately led to me choosing to stop attending the class. However, on the positive side, the resources are amazing as were the 9 video lessons, so I will continue my journey on my own. I only wish I could have benefited from the group sessions.

Co-coordinator

Byron from Friendswood, TX

September 28, 2018

I am a co-coordinator of this class. Request was made in the beginning to have me signed up as such. this was not done!! I called Brian Bush and he said he had me signed in as Co-coordinator. Yet one week later I cannot sign in as a Co-coordinator and the class ONLY shows Tim Tamerler as the Coordinator.