All Reviews

4.8

out of 5 stars

8,208 ratings

Financial Peace University

$129.99
Free Shipping
Checkout

NewChanges Worse for the People

Gilbert from Riverside, CA

January 25, 2020

Really Unhappy with the new changes: less material for the people and more cost. Less material: no audio CDs, no lifetime membership, ...etc

Review

Jason from Kingston, MA

January 23, 2020

Most of the program wasn't relative to my financial situation.

Programs is great but

No Name from Anchorage, AK

January 19, 2020

Overall program is spot on but the cost of EveryDollar is expensive for the limited system received.

Not what I expected...

L.T. from Washington DC, DC

January 10, 2020

I was really looking forward to taking financial peace university but for me it offered nothing in addition from what I already knew - reading The Total Money Makeover, listening to The Dave Ramsey show etc. The coordinator was class overall was not motivating or uplifting. I honestly could have done without the class; just being honest. Its possible it was just the class I was in but unfortunately it added nothing extra for me. Honestly, I could have saved the $130. If you are a mentally strong person and can motivate yourself and already on course with the books and Dave's show I don't think you need the class.

Course

Mark from Frankford, DE

January 5, 2020

It was ok, not really impressed. Sorry.

Not that thrilled

Rebecca from Glenmoore, PA

December 29, 2019

This is mostly about Every Dollar, which I find to be very clunky and unintuitive. Also, I'd like to drop down to a free membership but your site keeps timing out and I can't access the payment part of my account. Not cool for a financial planning website.

sputtered start

Charlie from Kansas City, MO

December 4, 2019

The class was not as I expected. It started with 3 participants and soon it was just me. I stopped going. I'm working Step 2 and I'll get into a new class. The hosts/coordinators were knowledgeable and very nice, no complaints there. I had hoped to get various experiences from lots of others.

Expected More

Emily from Gasport, NY

November 26, 2019

I had started following the Baby Steps 8 months prior to signing up for FPU. I struggled with signing up for it because it was $129 extra into my budget. There were no classes offered near me so I took an online class. I had done my own research on all things Dave Ramsey prior and I was excited for the discussion in the class on working through the Baby Steps with my peers. The class began late, every day. The coordinators had technical difficulties almost every week. The Q & A discussion time was about 10 minutes at most at the end of each class. All of the attendees of the class were related or friends of the coordinators except myself and one other person and I felt that hindered our experience. Insignificant inside jokes and personal stories overtook the lesson each week. I do feel my experience is not a reflection of the course as a whole, but rather of the coordinators. Unfortunately, I do not feel this course helped me on my debt free journey.

ok but personal touch lacking

Andrew from corydon, IN

November 16, 2019

For the money, tools are good except the budget (keeps losing contact with Chase bank--makes it useless). Also, contacting a coach is about impossible.

Lack of resources

Rudy-Dario from Houston, TX

October 28, 2019

In class and videos bad financial institutions was named, then good ones or recommended institutions was offered, never was available even in the material. I was looking programs for insurance and mortgage but nothing

Needed more individual help

Brenda from Bloomington, IL

October 2, 2019

I think the class would be good, but needed more help. The timing of class wasn’t good for me. The class was large and never felt connected at all. By time I got out of work it was mostly over. Need to try again but with more help.

did not finish

Ricky from Leeds, ND

August 14, 2019

I did not finish FPU.

Group review

Frank from Peachtree City, GA

July 24, 2019

The group I was in did not work well for me. I plan to work with the resources on this site to see if I can figure out what will work for me.

Class Great but was supposed to have a lifetime membership

Sadly Let Down from Tampa, FL

July 18, 2019

We were told that the up front membership fee would give us lifetime access to the course content. Not so apparently.

It helps if you are heterosexual and married

Brenna from Hebo, OR

July 16, 2019

Even though a couple of references were made to single people taking the course, the entire framework was so skewed towards married couples, that it grew extremely irritating. Though I did pick up some good tips, the constant hammering away about family, spouse, etc. became offensive and felt exclusionary. Also, my income fluctuates greatly, as I work as a substitute teacher, have several other little jobs, and independent contracts. I was unable to find resources within the course to assist in managing this.

It Really Works!

Magda from Frederick, MD

July 10, 2019

If you make a plan and then work the plan, the plan really works!! Dave's simple steps get people from where they are to where they want to be financially. While the steps are simple and logical, normal/regular people don't talk finances the way Dave does. Sticking to the steps isn't easy when you live in a crushingly consumer/credit-based society. Taking the class once is remarkably helpful, staying connected to a group is even more helpful. Success stories fuel the fire for staying on track!!

Smart Money talk or FPU, but not both

Matthew from San Diego, CA

June 3, 2019

I guess I kind of feel like I was sold this at the Smart Money deal at our church. The videos you can watch either online or in the group seem like the Smart Money talk I already attended, but with some added supplimental material. As we watched the video in the group setting (especially in the earlier steps) it was like you knew the punch lines to Dave's jokes because you already heard them. My girlfriend actaully stopped attending the classes because she also felt it was the same thing she already heard. I did find the materials in later lessons to be more informative, but unfortunately I'm not at those steps yet. Great program, but I'd suggest it or the Smart Money talk, not both.

Too fast

Tim from Des Moines, IA

May 26, 2019

I originally went through the 13 week program. The difference was drastic. In my opinion this new 9 week course was very superficial. There didn't seem to be very much in-depth discussion about some key topics, the first of which is the usage of the various budget forms (which appear cartoonish in their remake). I know this is the "new age" of the apps, but I have had to spend a lot if time with people wanting to use a form, and had to copy the old forms so we could use them. The app just doesn't seem to be as tangible for the people I am around. Bottom line, the message and philosophy are rock solid but I won't lead the 9 week course again. I would rather lead the 13 week course with just the audio CDs than this course. I was also VERY upset when I had a couple reach out to a coach and it was just a sales pitch for their product,"pay me and I'll help guide you monthly". NOT the Dave Ramsey I will stand by. I am seeking for a new solution going forward, this new program isn't it.

Locked out halfway through Couldn't finish my class

Danielle from Marlboro, NY

May 12, 2019

Sad to say I had a terrible experience. I was locked out of my account for some reason half way through my class. Every time I called support I would leave a message and NEVER TO THIS DAY got a call back. I would communicate via email but that was SLOW going and took FOREVER and subsequently I missed the last half of my class. I was charged double for every dollar in one month. that did get refunded but I asked for a refund for my class so that I could join another one so I could complete it WITH the class like I should have able to the first time. I have been told for MONTHS that my refund is coming but each one is posted manually so I need to wait. At this point I know its not coming and so incredibly disappointed in my experience. I came to Dave and Financial peace to try and change my life. While I did create a budget (and pay monthly to due so) the rest of my money to join the class was basically stolen from me in my opinion since I was unable to complete it. UNHAPPY

Great class minus the distractions

Joe from Stockton, CA

April 11, 2019

The class was a new, fun, scary, exciting, and great experience. The instructors were very knowledgeable, and very involved. The only big negative that I have is that students newborns, infants, and small children were a huge distraction to multiple classes. I get it, maybe for some of the students, childcare isn't an option. The instructors gave the opportunity to give childcare at the church, but very rarely it was taken advantage of. I think the classmates should respect the others time, peace, and money when it comes to learning a life changing course. We all paid big money to take this course and It was very selfish and rude to your peers when babies are crying, kids are playing with the toys on the floor, watching videos on cell phones while the class is going on. I recommend that there should be an age limit of at least 10 yrs. old to bring children to class. I almost feel like I should repeat some of the classes due to not capturing all the information. Hope this helps. Thank u

Financial Peace WaterSprings Church

Anne from Ammon (Idaho Falls), ID

April 6, 2019

We did not fit well into this class. We are senior citizens and the remainder of people in class or groups when we split up, were in their 30's and under. We already owned our home, raised our kids, etc. But we did have 5 credit cards we needed to pay off. Just never felt welcome or could add anything. We were very polite and listened to everyone. Thought I could go back on here and take the class again. I understood once you paid for class it was a life-long membership.

So not intuitive

Michael Todd Alliman from Richmond, TX

March 28, 2019

You asked me for a review minutes after I signed up for a free trial. So here's where I am: 1. Where's my transactions? 2. Why don't I have access to all the things (Ask a Coach, Connect) under a free trial? Not really a trial then, is it? 3. I'm a YNAB user, but love Dave, so wanted to give it a shot. For the price, the start ain't great.

Stick to the Debt side

Michael from Dublin, OH

March 17, 2019

The course started off really strong with the emphasis on getting out of debt. I love the huge improvement we’ve made with our monthly budgeting. We’re rolling our debt snowball right now. But I have to say I was highly disturbed that Dave would so often emphasize people getting 12% annual returns on investments - that’s giving people such a false impression of reality! There’s also not a one-size-fits-all approach to investing or retirement. Maybe it’s too much to ask one program to apply equally to people in their 20s and their 60s. It would also be nice given the Christian foundation of the class if there were more emphasis on giving in the beginning instead of waiting until the last week. Also ironic that one of the lessons was how to avoid salesman tactics when Dave is trying to sell us something new every week! Speaking out of both sides of his mouth it seems.

class was good

Jerome from Hammond, IN

March 15, 2019

I enjoyed the class over all. I am really interested in paying off my debts and gaining wealth using the Dave Ramsey baby steps. My coordinator is kinda doing Dave-ish. which is not what I really wanted in this class. I really wanted to be motivated and inspired. I was not. I felt like I was an outsider reminding the class to stick to the proven plan material that Dave Ramsey suggests. I did leave the class feeling that I am not alone in my debt struggle. I found some joy in that. I wish all the Participants the most success. I am glad I paid for the year subscription and I will try another class at another place in hopes of finding motivation to keep on going on the road to debt freedom using the baby steps.

Disappointed near the end

George from Columbus, GA

March 13, 2019

My wife and I were enjoying FPU until we started having issues with it and Every Dollar's password. Just last week, we could never sign in to either account no matter how many times we reset the password. We could only get in by resetting the password, which was obviously annoying. We had reached out to tech support but have heard nothing back. Disappointed.