All Reviews

4.8

out of 5 stars

7,070 ratings

Financial Peace University

$129.99
Free Shipping
Checkout

Good for the young

Sean Benson from Asbury, IA

November 17, 2019

It's all right, but definitely suited to more inexperienced, and younger, people.

Basically introducing financial plans to those who haven't

Erik from Warner Robins, GA

November 17, 2019

Not bad for beginners, but not a lot of resources for those already on their way. And it seems like the focus has changed from helping people help themselves to getting an annual membership fee that then enables members to help members. If that's what you are looking for, then go for it. Otherwise, research the FIRE movement - they only get paid by advertisers for your visit to their site, and their knowledge and information gets you through debt snowballs and budgeting just like FPU, and takes you all the way to investing and taxes in retirement just like FPU, but for free. Be an independent thinker and you will get the peace you are looking for.

Mixed Reviews

Jonathan from Orlando, FL

November 13, 2019

The videos and materials were very helpful. The group itself was lacking. Not much discussion, and the leader often contradicted the education. We have been following the program for a while before we took FPU and have some amazing results. We are looking to do another FPU group to see if maybe it was just that groups chemistry.

Helpful but a little disappointed

Misty from Glasgow, KY

November 8, 2019

There was lots of good yet common sense info throughout this course. I was really hoping to have spent more time on learning to budget. I understand the debt snowball and the importance of savings, I struggle with budgeting and the specifics of such. Again, the class was very informative but I would have loved to have spent more time learning to budget

Dave Ramsey

Susan from Columbus, OH

November 6, 2019

Good Class.

EveryDollar Performance Factors

John from Great White North, OK

November 4, 2019

Has bugs; needs a user-interface review from your developers; significant lag/delay in sync'ing with accounts and pulling in data from original sources. USAA has the ability to do the same and does not have the lag/delay in syncing with outside accounts or pulling data. Would like to see some improvements made.

Good but not amazing

Christian from Ravenna, OH

November 3, 2019

FPU could improve in the area of explaining more details of how someone pays off 80k in 18 months etc. Also to review information about how the 10% returns on investment is possible. Even the smartvestor pros I’ve talked with said the best return is around 4% not 10%. Overall still good advice for debt removal.

Good Budget & Debt Removal Plans

Paul from Kansas City, MO

November 3, 2019

We love the budget and debt snowball tools.

Did Not Help Me

Christopher Lago from Spring Hill, TN

October 30, 2019

I must say first I am not a negative person. I think this course is wonderful for most people and I believe it has great potential to change lives. However it simply didn't teach me anything I could use towards achieving my goals. I am currently debt free with 3 vehicles 2016 and newer. This is because I was medically separated from the Army after nearly 14 years and received a $107,000 severance payment. I am 100% permanent in total medically disabled. My monthly income is from $3,125 VA disability and $3,114 from my spouse. I currently rent because I was told to pay off my debts before buying a home and was still in the Army at this time. I still don't know when I should purchase a home, or even if it's in my best interest. My wife is having our first child, a girl, in February. I currently have more than $40,000 in savings and about that 3rd vehicle, it belonged to my ex-wife and she nearly defaulted so I just paid it off and took it. I'm upside-down on it $5K. I need your help...

Not as good as before

Victoria from Georgia, GA

October 22, 2019

I took this class a few years ago. I like that it has been updated. I don’t like the fact the book Total Money Makeover wasn’t included with the new materials. It was the book that really motivated me the first time around

Membership?

Marc from Gilbert, AZ

October 12, 2019

I wish I had known we only had access to the courses for a year. My husband and I are trying to learn and take in the lessons slowly before getting ahead of ourselves on some of the other course topics. We signed on today to move onto the next chapter that we felt we were ready for, only to find out our "membership" expired. I thought our purchase was an indefinite use of this valuable knowledge. :o(

Informative

N.K. from GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL

October 12, 2019

FPU gives an explanation of each of the steps & the “why” to follow them. With each step, an “action plan” is asked of the participants. We’re in BS2 with irregular, below median income. It’s difficult to be gazelle intense when you’re focused on covering the four walls; it’s also embarrassing to sit through BS 3-8 lessons & write for each action plan, “continue to pay off debt”. These classes are great for individuals with fixed, average & above incomes. Irregular income & the “four walls” are discussed, but briefly. I now know all the different types of insurance to have & how to sell or buy a house, but I still don’t have the money to pay for the extra recommended insurance bills. As I work more hours to cover 4 walls or to put towards the debt snowball, I’m exhausted which affects my house & my kids all of which get neglected. More needs to be discussed about balancing time & energy between work & a family. I’m struggling w/sacrificing the family to work extra to pay bills & debt.

Not practical

Cheryl from Martinsville, IN

October 4, 2019

Our problem at the onset of this program was insufficient cash flow, not debt. We hadn’t had a credit card in ages and we just got by. If we did this program Dave’s way, we would be age 65 before we started saving for retirement. That’s not going to work. The reality for some folks is that the struggle is real. The principals, for the most part, We agree with if you put them in place at a young age. Credit is deceptive in that it temporarily gives you a false sense of freedom that will leave you in chains the rest of your life. But all that insurance will make the Mafia richer and keep us in the poor house. We did learn better budgeting methods and it’s nice to have a reality check as to where we really are financially. Our outlook on life: live within our means, Lean heavy on the Lord for his provision and protection & work til we’re dead. Retirement is an illusion of this world. Our rest comes after we hear the words, Well done, good and faithful servants. Thank you Dave.

Educational

Val Carlton from Germantown, MD

October 3, 2019

This program helped in that i was able to pay down 3 debt in less than one year. Interest raised my bill.

Um... I get it.

Daniel Joseph Rink from Ramsey, MN

September 24, 2019

Dave has a plan that worked for him. And it very well might work for others, in fact, I am sure it has. But it is simply not for everyone. And shaming people is not cool man. There are many ways to get out of debt. People are not always at the same starting point. He discounts over and over what kinds of "debt" people have. My advice, pay off what you can, change your spending patterns, save and get after it!!!

Likes and Dislikes

Vickie from Niceville, FL

September 16, 2019

I really like the personal input from a variety of couples, Rachel and Chris. They have a gentler and kinder approach. I wish downloadable forms for pencil and paper entries were easier to find and up front.

a few tweeks

Victor from CANTON, MI

September 11, 2019

please stop trying to sell. as a business owner of a retail store in business for over 27 years, i have found that doing the right thing for the right reasons is the best sales tool we have. Pushing the sale is profitable in the short term but seldom in the long term. The selling that is going on in the videos and email contacts have turned off some of the most on fire people i know. 5 years ago i would have given 5 stars

ReDo

Dana from Cincinnati/Dayton, OH

September 9, 2019

I just signed up to begin this course again, but really do it. The last time I started class, I sat and showed my income verses debt to my class coach. He told me that I was on baby step -10. Yep, negative 10. And I was. So now my life looks different and I am here to persevere and accomplish! Looking very forward to the golden opportunity and tools this course will offer. A way of life!

Trying

Amanda from Belton, MO

August 29, 2019

Trying to retake the course with my fiancé, it’s his first time.. I can’t find a a way to link to fpu in order to purchase the new kit. It looks like plenty of options to continue but I cannot budget 129 for the whole kit and the additional 99 to renew my membership... am I missing something? Also contacted customer service with no response as of yet....

Ok

Alleisha Walters from Graham, TX

August 28, 2019

It's pretty good

Not in class

Trinity Lutheran from Norfolk, VA

August 21, 2019

I did not attend this class, I will lead it.

Review

Todd from Conway, AR

August 13, 2019

Already knew most of it. The insurance part I needed to know. Over all it’s worth $40 but not $100.

Everyday dollar

KaSandra from Vancouver, WA

August 10, 2019

The Everyday Dollar App is not user friendly.

I LOVE THIS, BUT...

Juliet from CLINTON, MS

August 9, 2019

I LOVE THAT THIS IS AVAILABLE TO US AND SO APPRECIATE HOW THE SNOWBALL WORKS. THE EVERYDOLLAR APP IS GLITCHY (LOSES CONNECTION WITH MY BANK A LOT). MAKES ME QUESTION THE SECURITY OF THE APP. I LOVE THE ADIVCES, ENCOURAGEMENTS, AND TESTIMONIES OF OTHERS, AND ESP. THE RESOURCES YOU PROVIDE. AS OF TODAY, WE WILL BE DEBT FREE EXCEPT FOR THE HOME WE CURRENTLY OWN. THANK YOU FPU FOR HELPING US STAY ON TRACK AS A COUPLE. LOVE TEAM RAMSEY!!

ok but class a little small

Jack from minnepolis, MN

August 7, 2019

class was ok but there was only 6 of us. The leader was not relatable to everyone. He kept talking about his in-laws who had so much money. And he disagreed with some points of Dave's, such as not having a credit score - or having it be zero.